Español | English

Conference on Financial Development and Stability

Conference on Financial Development and Stability

Keynote Speakers 2019

Dr. John Laker, Chair, Banking and Finance Oath

Dr. John Laker

Dr. John Laker was Chairman of the Australian Prudential Regulatory Authority (APRA), the regulator of the Australian financial services industry, from 2003 to 2014. He was APRA’s representative on the Payments System Board of the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA), the Council of Financial Regulators, the Trans-Tasman Council on Banking Supervision and the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision. Previously, he had an extensive career in the RBA and also worked in the Commonwealth Treasury and International Monetary Fund (IMF).

Currently, John is Chair of the Banking and Finance Oath, an industry initiative to raise ethical standards. He is Deputy Chancellor of the University of Technology Sydney, a member of the External Advisory Panel of the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC), and a director of Cancer Council NSW and Cancer Council Australia. He lectures at the University of Sydney and, as a member of its Experts Panel, undertakes advisory work for the IMF.

He was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2008 and has won other professional awards for his services to the regulation of the Australian financial system.


Professor Charles Calomiris, Finance and Economics, Columbia Business School, Henry Kaufman Professor of Financial Institutions

Profesor Charles Calomiris

Charles W. Calomiris is Henry Kaufman Professor of Financial Institutions at Columbia Business School, Director of the Business School’s Program for Financial Studies and its Initiative on Finance and Growth in Emerging Markets, and a professor at Columbia’s School of International and Public Affairs. His research spans the areas of banking, corporate finance, financial history and monetary economics. He is a Distinguished Visiting Fellow at the Hoover Institution, a Fellow at the Manhattan Institute, a member of the Shadow Open Market Committee and the Financial Economists Roundtable, and a Research Associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Professor Calomiris is past president of the International Atlantic Economic Society, and has served on numerous committees, including the Advisory Scientific Committee of the European Systemic Risk Board, the U.S. Congress’s International Financial Institution Advisory Commission, the Shadow Financial Regulatory Committee, and the Federal Reserve System’s Centennial Advisory Committee. He serves as co-managing editor of the Journal of Financial Intermediation.

He received a B.A. in economics from Yale University, Magna Cum Laude, a Ph.D. in economics from Stanford University. Professor Calomiris holds an honorary doctorate from the University of Basel.



Back to 2019 Conference Home

SBIF: 3rd Conference on Banking Development, Stability, and Sustainability

Previous Conferences

Please feel free to browse the websites of past versions of the "Conference on Financial Development and Stability" previously called “Banking Development, Stability, and Sustainability Conference”:


Organizers Conference on Financial Development and Stability